Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#207671 - 01/03/2004 11:57 Cheap snowboard gear?
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
I'm looking to get some cheap gear. I'm sick of renting. Need: Boots, bindings, board. Also, I think I want a board-bag to put it in so that it doesn't cut the car interior up. I'm still learning how to snowboard (but getting better each time), but not "into it" enough to want the best and most expensive equipment. I know nothing about what's good and what's not.

I don't mind used gear and I would go to a ski-swap nearby if I were able to find one this season. I get the impression that it would be hit-or-miss in terms of finding boots my size (mens' 11) etc.

By the way, I don't even know how big of a board to get, I always just take whatever the rental guy picks for me. I'm 6 feet tall and weigh 180 at the moment, if that has a bearing.

I've looked on ebay, but it's hard to narrow down listings to include those with bindings and boots and all. Although this guy has an auction he keeps re-running for a relatively cheap ($199.00) package. Does that look any good, or is that complete crap?

#207672 - 01/03/2004 12:04 Re: Cheap snowboard gear? [Re: tfabris]
loren
carpal tunnel

Loc: SLC, UT, USA
Like so many things... you get what you pay for... up to a point. I've never heard of any of those brands. I'd say drive to Reno for a ski swap. They used to have multiples a year... and you can find really good deals there. I got the Santa Cruz board i'm riding now there about 3 years back for $150. Now's not the best time to buy in any case... you'd be way better off if you waited to the season is over and buy last years models or even 2 years back. I got my Burton Step-ins for half price because they were last years model at a local board shop