#232376 - 18/09/2005 23:39
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 24/12/2001
Posts: 5528
|
ksock_rw is part of the Hijack FTP/HTTP daemon.
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232377 - 19/09/2005 08:25
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
|
That's the problem - you have more RAM. The caching routine is designed around the normal 16MB. It is extremely aggressive, in that it completely tries to fill the cache each time. The issue is that it performs the disk reads and buffers the data into the kernel memory space, flooding out other processes. While memory support was added to the 2.01 kernel, there were no known changes to the caching mechanism. Thus the aggressive caching tuned to 16MB becomes a psychotic serial killer with 64MB.
The error you are seeing might be another symptom of this memory limitation. Question - do you notice the same behavior if the player is paused? This is just a test to see if it is the cache (assuming that the paused player fills the cache and then rests once it is full) or the player application in general.
_________________________
Paul Grzelak 200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232378 - 19/09/2005 10:35
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: tman]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
|
Quote: ksock_rw is part of the Hijack FTP/HTTP daemon.
That's interesting... the FTP and HTTP requests were made long before this happened. It's as if it finally caught up...
_________________________
Brad B.
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232379 - 19/09/2005 10:36
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: pgrzelak]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
|
How about if I have an even larger ReserveCache and only leave the player about 16mb or so?
Putting the playing into Pause resolves the issue. Emplode finds it just fine. Of course, I can only put the play into Pause via the player itself because hitting the pause button in emplode or empegface doesn't work.
_________________________
Brad B.
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232380 - 19/09/2005 11:13
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
|
Quote: How about if I have an even larger ReserveCache and only leave the player about 16mb or so?
You just have to calculate out where that sweet spot is. But, I have to wonder. Given that the only change from 2.0 to 2.01 was the ability to use additional memory, and that this change counteracts that, is it worth staying with 2.01? I found the sweet spot on mine (48MB) at 180. Assuming that it scales linearly (see above discussion about approximate use of reservecache values), I would expect your value should have been fine with about 270 (assuming a reservecache increase of "90" for every 16MB upgraded).
_________________________
Paul Grzelak 200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232381 - 19/09/2005 14:19
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: pgrzelak]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 14491
Loc: Canada
|
Quote: I would expect your value should have been fine with about 270 (assuming a reservecache increase of "90" for every 16MB upgraded).
16MB == ReserveCache=256
The player s/w in the latest alpha already automatically tweaks the ReserveCache setting some on its own, so it won't be as easy as trying ReserveCache=768 here.
Also, the goal is NOT to leave the player with 16MB, since its original cache was NEVER even close to that large.. more like 4-8MB max.
I like the memory board concept, but very much prefer just a 32MB total from stacked chips.
Cheers
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232382 - 19/09/2005 14:33
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: mlord]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
|
So am I basically out of luck until a software release takes advantage of the extra memory?
_________________________
Brad B.
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232383 - 20/09/2005 09:57
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 25/06/1999
Posts: 2993
Loc: Wareham, Dorset, UK
|
The W's indicate that a thread is waiting for disk. It implies you either have a remarkably slow disk (like the original Toshibas shipped in 1999) or that the disk is generating a lot of errors. It has very little to do with the amount of memory you have installed, or the amount you are reserving for cache.
If you get audio stutters, the most likely place for this to happen is near the start of a track, within the first 5 seconds of playback. The playback cache spits out what it has cached and is expecting more data from the disk, which it is not getting in time - hence a brief pause. No amount of reserved memory will help in this situation if the data is simply not being delivered on time.
Other, continuous audio stutters occuring rapidly during playback also point to a failing disk or one with high latency.
ksock is a kernel socket operation. The socket error -32 is FFE0, the meaning of which as an Errno in Unix escapes me at the moment.
This implies you have an IP stack fault of some sort. Have you had serious electrical problems on this unit? It may imply subtle electronic damage which may also account for the apparent slowness of the disk, as the ethernet chip and the IDE interface are on the same buffered databus/5V power rail. You may have a damaged bi-directional databus buffer chip which is causing data corruption.
_________________________
One of the few remaining Mk1 owners... #00015
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232384 - 20/09/2005 20:33
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: schofiel]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
|
Well crap.
Things are fine with 2.00 except for serial output giving me memory errors... Maybe I can fence some stuff on eBay and afford to mail it to you... If only the damn Euro would fall.
_________________________
Brad B.
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232385 - 20/09/2005 23:12
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
|
What kind of memory errors with 2.00???
_________________________
Paul Grzelak 200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232388 - 21/09/2005 08:55
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: pgrzelak]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
|
Quote: What kind of memory errors with 2.00???
Stuff like this:
serial_notify_thread.cpp: 180:@@ #369c0 0:00:22 serial_notify_thread.cpp: 180:@@ #369c0 0:00:23 serial_notify_thread.cpp: 180:@@ #369c0 0:00:24 serial_notify_thread.cpp: 180:@@ #369c0 0:00:25 serial_notify_thread.cpp: 180:@@ #369c0 0:00:26 serial_notify_thread.cpp: 180:@@ #369c0 0:00:27 serial_notify_thread.cpp: 180:@@ #369c0 0:00:28
But at least now I'm not getting any glitches in audio or any Ws.
_________________________
Brad B.
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232389 - 21/09/2005 09:37
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
|
Isn't this just part of the notify option from config.ini? Or perhaps some debugging data? It does not seem like an error.
_________________________
Paul Grzelak 200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#232391 - 21/09/2005 11:39
Re: Resolved!!!
[Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
|
carpal tunnel
Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
|
Well, I still think the memory upgrade is a good thing. It is great if you use third party applications, or if you use the HTML interface a lot. I have a bunch of people at the office streaming from my player at the same time, and they do not seem to be stepping on each other. It is also great for big fsck runs... But, yes, the player application itself does not make good use of the memory yet. At least not the 2.0x class players. I have not tried the alphas yet. I know what you mean about the LEDs - I have one I need to get fixed as well. The more modifications, certainly the more things can (and usually do) go wrong. But I still think that it is worth it. And, yes, that button hack is still extremely impressive!!!
_________________________
Paul Grzelak 200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs
|
Top
|
|
|
|
|
|