Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#85747 - 05/04/2002 17:56 Geocaching
svferris
addict

Loc: San Diego, CA, USA
I just came across this site called geocaching.com. This looks like a lot of fun! Basically, you use your GPS to go "treasure hunting" for these boxes people leave around. In them, they leave a log book as well as different items. When you find a cache, you log your visit, and you can swap out any item(s) for other item(s).

Makes me want to go out and get a GPS unit. Anybody have suggestions on good units that are decently priced?

#85748 - 07/04/2002 18:44 Re: Geocaching [Re: svferris]
davec
old hand

Loc: Georgetown, TX USA
I've been using the Garmin GPSIII+ for a couple of years. mostly for fishing. It's pre-loaded with the major interstates and most highays. I upload topographical maps to it with separate Garmin software. It can be found for around $300. Most all models on the market nowdays are good enough for basic navigation, the newer, higher end units will have DGPS and WAAS for even more accuracy.
I've never done the geocaching, but I've thought about it many times. There are lots around here in Austin on the geocaching.com site.

#85749 - 08/04/2002 13:48 Re: Geocaching [Re: davec]
svferris
addict

I was looking at the Garmin eMap and the Garmin V, which is an update to the GPSIII. The Garmin V is almost double the cost of the eMap, though.

Does the GPSIII+ fit in your hand well? I don't want something too bulky. Also, can't I hook up a plain old GPS to my Palm and get some software on the Palm that can do the turn-by-turn features? Then I wouldn't have to pay for those extra features on the GPS unit.

#85750 - 09/04/2002 01:50 Re: Geocaching [Re: svferris]
Alexander

Loc: SF Bay Area