Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#93181 - 12/05/2002 12:36 Stupid "Resource Hacking" Question...
bootsy
enthusiast

Loc: Seattle, WA. USA
I was wondering if you technically minded folks could help me with something...

I am an artist using Windows XP and large icons. I finally got disgusted with how the emplode icon looked this way and I replaced it with a nice shiny 48x48x32 icon I made my self. When it wouldn't stick just by using "Change Icon..." I tried using Resource Hacker. It seems to work perfectly. The new icon appears everywhere the old icon did (as it should.)

My question is, "Is this a bad thing to do?"

It looks like modern programs are smart enough that you can change the size of a resource with out them blowing up. Can this become a problem? Will it corrupt my database or set my lawn on fire? If it's all kosher, I was thinking of XPing all the icons in emplode, upgrade, and clone...

#93182 - 12/05/2002 13:20 Re: Stupid "Resource Hacking" Question... [Re: bootsy]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
As far as I know, updating the icons in a Windows EXE or DLL is a perfectly fine thing to do. This includes enlarging icons, adding extras, etc.

I use MicroAngelo for editing icon resources directly in EXE files, and I have never had a problem when I'm simply modifying or adding to the resource table. The editing software simply handles updating all of the necessary references in the file.

The only time I could see this being a problem is if the EXE did a self-checksum as part of a copy protection scheme. But I haven't seen a case of this before, this is only a theoretical idea.

In fact, I've gotten to the point where I'm so confident when editing icon resources that I don't even bother to make a backup copy of the DLL or EXE that I'm editing. I just save directly to it and get on with my life.

Related question, I'll throw it out to the BBS: