Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#134106 - 10/01/2003 03:01 Digital Camera Memory SD / MMC ?
LTJBukem
enthusiast

Guys,

I looking for a few pointers on Digital Cameras and Memory

I want something very compact, because i want to take it pretty much everywhere with me, and 3meg is about the resolution, as occasionally i'll want to print at A4

I've pretty much decided on the new Minolta Xi unless you guys tell me its a waste of time, and have a great alternative.

In terms of memory, i'm confused, as its uses MMC and SD cards. The supplied 16mb will be pretty useless for my tour of Oz in May, and I need to buy some bigger cards.

I understand that SD is 'faster' than MMC, so i would go for that, but then should i be looking for certain speeds / brands of cards etc ?

Any advise would be appreciated as i'm a novice on the digi cam scene.

Thanks

#134107 - 10/01/2003 04:45 Re: Digital Camera Memory SD / MMC ? [Re: LTJBukem]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Loc: New Jersey, USA
Greetings!

While I know almost nothing about cameras, I can help a little with the memory. SD and MMC memory are the same form factor and connections, so the devices I have tried can use them interchangeably. SD can be purchased in much higher capacities (up to 512MB). Your milage may vary.

I bought a 128MB MMC card when I first got the Rio S50. This was before I knew that I could use SD memory and that there was a 512MB SD card out. (There was a posting in the web site thread that the S50 page really needed to be updated to show the expandability. I agree completely!!!) If you are interested in a 128MB MMC card cheap, send me a PM.

#134108 - 10/01/2003 06:29 Re: Digital Camera Memory SD / MMC ? [Re: LTJBukem]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Loc: Sterling, VA