Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#107552 - 26/07/2002 11:55 Javascript needed
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/03/2000
Posts: 12320
Loc: Sterling, VA
I'm setting up a menu for a site, and I have a little area that I want to change an image in based on what link the mouse is over at the moment. Then, when visiting that page, I want to be able to load an image into that area based on which page is open, as the menu will be part of an include.

Is this possible?
_________________________
Matt

Top
#107553 - 26/07/2002 13:09 Re: Javascript needed [Re: Dignan]
kirkholt
new poster

Registered: 27/09/2001
Posts: 11
Loc: Denmark
I think it is possible.

I recommend you tak a look at the javascript at http://www.irt.org

best regards

Ole

Top
#107554 - 26/07/2002 14:36 Re: Javascript needed [Re: Dignan]
Anonymous
Unregistered


Yeah it's possible. what are you having trouble with?

Top
#107555 - 27/07/2002 09:54 Re: Javascript needed [Re: Dignan]
redbutt2
member

Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 141
Loc: San Diego, CA
Just make sure that you do the page specific image in an event triggered by the body onLoad event and you will be fine. Otherwise the include section might not be loaded yet when you try to execute the function. And yes, this is easy...I put some image swapping code up here a while ago, you can hack that to do what you want.
_________________________
We need a bigger boat.

Top
#107556 - 27/07/2002 18:39 Re: Javascript needed [Re: Dignan]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
Greetings!

For samples, go to Broadside Electric's web page. I helped write that, and I am certain it will help.
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#107557 - 28/07/2002 12:44 Re: Javascript needed [Re: pgrzelak]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/03/2000
Posts: 12320
Loc: Sterling, VA
Thanks guys, and I'm attempting to disect that script, Paul.

Unfotunately, my JS study hasn't gone well. Work sucks and takes up time, but pays. I'll see if I can clear up a few things and do it on my own by getting some answers to these questions:

-Paul, your script is half of what I want to do. On a mouseover of the link, I want to change that link image, and I also want to change an image in an area elsewhere to a link-specific image. Then, after clicking on that image, I want the page-specific image to be applied to the link and the image area. So bascally, I want to have it do what yours does, but change two images.

-also, redbutt2 said to put an onload in the body. are you not using includes on that page, Paul? Just wondering why you didn't do this.

geez, I'm going to need to learn how to do this stuff...argh. I don't know why it's so hard for me. I just haven't seemed to be able to get the hang of programming.
_________________________
Matt

Top
#107558 - 28/07/2002 13:23 Re: Javascript needed [Re: redbutt2]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/03/2000
Posts: 12320
Loc: Sterling, VA
Here's the thread where you posted that image swap script. I think I could figure it out, but I'm still not sure of how to make two images change with one mouseover, and then do the thing with loading the correct image into the include depending on the page.
_________________________
Matt

Top
#107559 - 28/07/2002 13:55 Re: Javascript needed [Re: Dignan]
Anonymous
Unregistered


just name the images like this:

<img src="dog.gif" name="image1">
<img src="house.jpg" name="image2">

then you can say:

onMouseOver="document.image1.src='boat.jpg';document.image2.src='car.jpg'"





Or what I'd do is this:

<div id="pic1"></div>

then in a function you can say:

pic1.innerHTML="<a href='link.com'><img src='boat.jpg'></a>";

or

pic1.innerHTML="<font size=5 color='red'>whatever</font>";


There are lots of ways you can do this, but using the <div>'s in my opinion is the cleanest and most simple.

Top
#107560 - 28/07/2002 14:16 Re: Javascript needed [Re: ]
Anonymous
Unregistered


i made an example.

Top
#107561 - 28/07/2002 14:16 Re: Javascript needed [Re: ]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/03/2000
Posts: 12320
Loc: Sterling, VA
I tried out that first one, and that definitely works for the image swapping on that page. Here's what mine looks like:

<img src="A.gif" name="image1" OnMouseOver="document.image1.src='B.gif';document.image2.src='D.gif'" onmouseout="document.image1.src='A.gif';document.image2.src='B.gif'">
<img src="C.gif" name="image2">

Say that there are 5 links with images like this. Now say that this link leads to something like a links page. When that links page is loaded, how do I make it so that images B and D are loaded by default. I can't just change that link to simply show those images with plain HTML, because as I said, this menu will be in an include.
_________________________
Matt

Top
#107562 - 28/07/2002 14:31 Re: Javascript needed [Re: ]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/03/2000
Posts: 12320
Loc: Sterling, VA
I also made an example

That is what I'd like to do.

*edit*
and then, if that is the menu item for the page that is loaded, the B and D images will be loaded as the default images.
_________________________
Matt

Top
#107563 - 28/07/2002 14:42 Re: Javascript needed [Re: Dignan]
Anonymous
Unregistered


I'm not sure what an include is. I'm trying to look it up right now. But if this helps, you can change the link along with the pic:

<a href='link1' name='thelink'>link</a>

thelink.href="link2";


Does an include have something to do with like cgi?

Top
#107564 - 28/07/2002 15:14 Re: Javascript needed [Re: ]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/03/2000
Posts: 12320
Loc: Sterling, VA
well I'm using it to load HTML from an external file. That way, I can put my menu in one file, edit that one file, and have it used on every page.
_________________________
Matt

Top
#107565 - 29/07/2002 13:42 Re: Javascript needed [Re: redbutt2]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/03/2000
Posts: 12320
Loc: Sterling, VA
I've got the basic page up now.

sinfonicron.dignan17.com

I scaled back a bit, used regular text for the links, and I guess I'll give up for now on the "knowing what page is loaded" thing. Right now my concern is that the image swap is so darn slow! I followed the advice on irt.org, which was to put a tag of each image to preload somewhere and give it 1x1 dimensions. But it's still slow. What can I do to speed it up?

*edit*
not all those links have image swaps yet. just a few of them.


Edited by DiGNAN17 (29/07/2002 13:43)
_________________________
Matt

Top
#107566 - 29/07/2002 19:26 Re: Javascript needed [Re: Dignan]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/03/2000
Posts: 12320
Loc: Sterling, VA
Okay, I think I was just on a crappy computer because those images are generally loading pretty quickly for me now.

Please, can someone point me to somewhere that can show me how to do the thing to load the correct image in the menu. I'm guessing I'll have to change my method for the image swaps as well, so I just can't see how to do this.
_________________________
Matt

Top
#107567 - 30/07/2002 12:47 Re: Javascript needed [Re: Dignan]
Anonymous
Unregistered


Yeah, that looks pretty good. As for the knowing what page is loaded thing, I don't think I understand what your trying to do. Why don't you just have six seperate html files for each of the six different links? Or do you want to open the same file in each link? I have a couple of ideas, but I need to understand exactly what it is your trying to do first.

EDIT: oh yeah, and those links don't work for me. I don't know if it is supposed to be set up yet.


Edited by d33zY (30/07/2002 12:50)

Top