Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#256035 - 11/05/2005 19:58 GPSAPP help?
farmtech
journeyman

Hello,
I hope this post is does not make me sound too dumb but I am interested in GPSAPP but am not able to make much sense of how well it works by looking through the forums. I have very little programming knowledge and do not understand how to install it. Does anyone have a "pre-compiled" version of 2.0 for the MK II with GPSAPP in it? Is that even possible? How many people out there are using it and would recommend it?

Thanks for any help you can give me.

#256036 - 13/05/2005 16:20 Re: GPSAPP help? [Re: farmtech]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
I use GPSapp and it is useful to me in a limited way. It is complicated to set up, and tricky to use. But it is convenient to have routes on the empeg since I don't have another dedicated navigation system in my car at the moment.

Here is how it works. This is a simplified overview, without a lot of details. And it still sounds complicated. :-)

SETTING UP THE EMPEG SIDE OF THINGS:

You buy a GPS receiver/antenna with a serial cable connnection. Preferably one that runs on 12 volts so you don't need to build a voltage-reducer circuit for it. The receiver must speak NMEA (most do). Note: This can be just a plain old inexpensive receiver, not a full GPS system with a screen and everything. Most of these receivers are about the size and shape of a computer mouse, are designed to plug into the serial port of a laptop computer.

You install that GPS antenna in your car and wire it up to the empeg sled's serial port, probably needing to construct a custom cable for the purpose and needing some trial-and-error to get the RX/TX lines working right.

You install Hijack on your empeg.